Q&A with Danielle Scheepers

Q&A with Danielle Scheepers image

Hello, my name is Danielle. I am an Afrikaner originally from Pretoria, but my heart was hijacked by greenery and mountains of the Mother City. I have been here nine years now and never looked back although I miss my family that are all up north.

 

It’s hard to sum a whole life up in a paragraph, but I like tea, anything to do with stories, travelling and outdoor activities, living sustainably and loving people.


What is your position in the YDC team?

Copywriter

 

How would you describe your role?

Basically presenting information in an interesting way to grab people’s attention and make them care. Yup-uh, challenging.


When did you start working at YDC?

January 2018

 

What part of your job do you enjoy most?

Learning. Anything really. About clients, efficient ways to do things, and about my interesting colleagues. (Also, apparently how to spell ‘colleague’!)

 

What part of your role do you find the most challenging?

Writing posts for social media. I really want to say things well and sometimes it feels like posts are the equivalent of a cat video in the quality of language/ sentiment.

 

What do you enjoy most about being part of the YDC team?

The YDC team. They are kind of cool. Ok really cool. And I like that they treat me like I know what I’m doing. 

 

What do you do when you’re stuck for inspiration?

Read, read, read… knowledge is like raw material, the more information I have the easier it is to sculpt something.

 

What is your pre-work routine?

I just moved out of my flat and my routine closely resembles a wonky old washing machine while I try to find my feet. But, if I can, I fit in a mug of green tea and some time to read my Bible in the morning.

 

If you could be any superhero, who would you be and why?

Obviously Wonder Woman. Who doesn’t want to have men falling at her feet but still be able to roundhouse kick them if necessary? I would wear pants though, because seriously, how can you be comfortable fighting crime in panties? (tut tut Stan Lee...)

 

What’s your favourite way to spend a weekend?

Doing something active outside. Climbing a mountain, paddling, going to the beach, having a picnic.

 

What music do you like to listen to while working?

Whatever Ant is listening to. I share an office with him and Nomso. Luckily, he’s got good taste!

 

Introvert or extrovert?

Extra-extrovert. But I do need time in the day to be alone, mornings or evenings.

 

Cats or dogs?

Cats are aliens. And I am deathly allergic. I just can’t trust something that my body physically rejects. Also, they’re mean. So... dogs.

 

Shoes or barefoot?

B A R E F O O T

 

What’s your favourite spot on Kloof Street?

I rarely go out and much prefer a home cooked meal with tons of friends to restaurants… but I like the Lifestyle Centre on Kloof for the Wellness Centre and that shop with the great jewellery next to Woolworths.

Submitting...

Leave a reply

  • {postedOn}

    {comment_text}

    Reply
      {com_leveln}

 

latest posts

read more about...

follow