Q&A with Jessica Pitman

By Jessica Pitman

Posted on 4th September 2019

Reading time: 2 minutes

My name is Jessica Pitman, also referred to as ‘Jess’ by friends and family, or ‘Chuck’ by very close friends and family. I’ve grown up in both Durban and Cape Town, and now feel very lucky to call my little nest in Wembley Square home. I’m an identical twin, and I love psychology, fine art, and psychoanalysing (probably to a fault). More than anything, I love being around my closest friends and family, in all their beautiful extremities.

What is your position in the Yellow Door team?

Junior account manager

 

What part of your job do you enjoy the most?

How diverse it is in terms of what I cover with each client – you’re never bored or unstimulated. It’s also a role that provides me with huge growth in many different areas, whilst being in a supportive and uplifting environment. What more could I ask for?

 

What part of your role do you find the most challenging?

Presenting quarterly strategies to clients is nerve-wracking! I’m also learning how to appreciate constructive feedback and not to take it as criticism, which is something I look forward to working on.

 

What do you enjoy most about being part of the Yellow Door team?

It’s rare to find a team of people who are both striving for the best, whilst also remaining authentic, properly supportive and non-egotistical. This is what attracted me to the team from the beginning.

 

What do you do when you’re stuck for inspiration?

I plough through the Book of Life archives (a sub-section of Alain de Botton’s The School of Life), read, talk to people who I love most, troll Pinterest, or get stuck into an art commission whilst listening to music.

 

What is your pre-work routine?

I’m still figuring this one out, but my ideal pre-work routine would be to make myself a delicious cup of coffee, read one Book of Life article that appeals to the section of my life that needs reflection, do a small meditation, and lastly to walk to work whilst taking in the beautiful Cape Town landscape. This is certainly not how every morning starts, but that’s the ideal one.

 

If you could be any superhero, who would you be and why?

I can’t think of a comic book hero, but when I watched the movie About Time, I thought about the ability to go back in time, to moments you miss deeply and with people who are no longer close by. I would want, more than anything, the superpower of being able to go back to those times.

 

What’s your favourite way to spend a weekend?

I would replicate the weekend I just had. I’d work on my art, playing music and eating delicious food at my apartment in Wembley with my closest friends around me reading or doing their work. I’d have a braai the next day with friends, and wind down on Sunday with my book or a good series and my twin sister close by.

 

What music do you like to listen to while working?

Anything except for hard rock, rap, or country music.

 

Introvert or extrovert?

Both, but slightly more extrovert.

 

Cats or dogs?

If you had to make me choose – cats.

 

Shoes or barefoot?

Shoes.

 

What’s your favourite spot in Gardens?

The lawn in front of my Wembley apartment, because my sister and our Wembley friends all gather there with the dogs playing around us.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on email

Recently on the blog

Q&A with Jessica Pitman

My name is Jessica Pitman, also referred to as ‘Jess’ by friends and family, or ‘Chuck’ by very close friends…

Q&A with Dean Palmer

I’m Dean Palmer – my actual name is Dylan but everyone calls me Dean! Originally from Delft I now live…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Hello!

Yes, #lifebehindtheyellowdoor is a thing – check it out on Instagram or sign up to our quarterly newsletter